How we’re celebrating Earth Day!

Here in the Cardtorial studio, we have pretty diverse (and strongly held!) opinions on a wide variety of topics. Generally, a day doesn’t go by without a pretty rousing debate on one thing or another (we’ll never forget The Great Sparkling Water Debate of 2017). But, something that we all have in common is our appreciation for the great outdoors and an understanding of the importance of preserving and taking care of our natural resources for the generations to come. From long days on the beach, to weekends hiking in the desert, we’re so appreciative of the time we get to spend disconnecting with technology and reconnecting with the Earth. So to celebrate Earth Day, we each took time to reflect on the moments we’ve spent in the great outdoors and how they’ve enriched our lives.

yvonne.jpeg

YVONNE, Owner
Sometimes we get so caught up in our cities and on our computers that we forget HOW important and crucial it is to preserve and take care of Mother Earth! I often think that if we all took time to be in and connect with nature, maybe it could help us (as individuals and as a world!) mellow out and connect with each other, too! Our natural world is beautiful and inspiring. We just need to take the time to appreciate it and be in it! My hope for the American consumer is that we are all a little more thoughtful about consumption out of respect for our precious resources. I surf almost every morning before heading into the studio [photo above], and my time in the ocean is so much to me – it offers community, presence, and grounding in nature. It fosters my emotional, physical and spiritual well-being.

IMG_3332.jpg

KAYLEY, Operations Associate
I took this picture in Malibu Creek State Park; it’s one of my favorite places to hike since it’s never too crowded if you go early enough! Hiking is one of my favorite ways to take time for myself and to de-stress. Spending time in nature is something that has always been important to me and my family, and I feel lucky that I live in a place with such beautiful parks to visit.

unnamed.jpg

KRISTIN, Sales Channel Associate, Account Manager + Photographer
This photo is of me being super excited at the Grand Canyon! My friends and I love to plan an annual trip together, to do something a little more “outdoorsy.” In 2016, we hiked the Grand Canyon and it was truly an experience I’ll never forget. Being there really forces you to consider the sheer power of nature, and how lucky we are to be able to experience it.

I also feel very lucky to live in a place like California – we can visit forests, mountains, deserts, or oceans by driving for just a few hours. We have so much to explore, right here in our own backyard!

maddy.jpeg

MADDY, Customer Service + Marketing Manager
There are few places that make me feel as calm as the beach. Growing up, it was always one of my mom’s favorite places, and her love must have rubbed off on me. Even things that bother some people about beach trips—the sand you can never fully get off of your skin, the hot, mid-summer sun, the perpetually freezing ocean water—bring me such joy. There’s just something about that salty sea-air scent that immediately relaxes me and makes me feel like a little kid again.

liz.jpg

LIZ, Designer
My husband, Joey, and I went on a trip to Iceland in October 2016 (where he later proposed on the edge of Glacier Lagoon). In this photo, I’m at Gullfoss (meaning ‘Golden Waterfall’). It is one of the most amazing “views of the forces and beauty of untouched nature” I’d ever seen. The water comes from Iceland’s second largest glacier, the Langjökull, and has a total depth of about 32 meters, which is about 105 feet.

Jess.jpg

JESS, Studio Assistant
I don’t really get out much these days because of my early school schedule, but getting to see the sunrise everyday as I drive into the parking lot at 6 AM is pretty worth it!

Leave a comment